Cognition · active

Windsurf (now Devin Desktop)

Current pricing, model access, usage-limit summaries, and a human-verified change history.

Verified

Last verified Sep 8, 2026, 6:00 PM UTC

Direct answer

Windsurf is now Devin Desktop

Cognition renamed Windsurf to Devin Desktop. Current plans use daily and weekly token-budget quotas, but the exact numeric daily and weekly allowances are Unknown — not publicly disclosed. Teams billing is an unresolved official-source conflict: do not treat a single $80-plus-seats total as settled Fact.

Current Devin Desktop pages

Windsurf is now Devin Desktop. Use the current pricing table and usage-limits guide for published plan facts. For the June 2, 2026 rename, subscription continuity, and current versus historical surfaces, see Windsurf to Devin migration.

Official source conflict

Official sources disagree

Unknown — conflicting Devin Desktop / Windsurf Teams $80 minimum versus $40 full-seat charges

  • Source A: Devin pricing — The Devin pricing page presents Teams as $80/month for the team plan plus $40/month per full developer seat, and the compare table header also shows Team $80/month with +$40/month per full user.
  • Source B: Devin self-serve billing — The self-serve billing document states every Teams account pays at least $80/month and that full-seat fees of $40 each contribute toward that minimum, with leftover minimum billed as prepaid on-demand credits. Two full seats equal $80 with $0 included credits; three full seats equal $120.
  • Applies to: Current self-serve Teams plans
  • Decision impact: A buyer cannot treat one additive total as settled Fact. Both sources agree the monthly obligation is at least $80. They disagree on whether seat fees stack on top of an $80 plan fee or count toward it.
  • TraceCheck status: Unresolved — Derived outputs must not treat one side as settled Fact.
  • Current interpretation: TraceCheck records an $80 monthly minimum and does not publish a single additive $80+$40 total as Fact.
  • Last checked Sep 8, 2026, 6:00 PM UTC

Unknown — conflicting Devin Cloud inclusion and the migration FAQ's separate-SKU language

  • Source A: Devin Cloud integration and shared self-serve usage — Current self-serve Pro, Max and Teams integration documentation includes Cloud and shares quota and extra-usage balance with Desktop.
  • Source B: Devin Desktop FAQ — The no-forced-ACU-migration answer says Cloud remains a separate SKU, including in a question covering legacy Windsurf customers.
  • Applies to: Current self-serve versus legacy Windsurf and negotiated Enterprise contracts; the exact boundary is not reconciled.
  • Decision impact: Use the explicit self-serve documentation only for that cohort. Do not infer Cloud entitlement or a shared pool for all historical Windsurf contracts.
  • TraceCheck status: Unresolved — Derived outputs must not treat one side as settled Fact.
  • Last checked Sep 8, 2026, 4:48 AM UTC

Unknown — conflicting Max daily-cap applicability across self-serve and Desktop quota descriptions

  • Source A: Devin self-serve billing — Current self-serve billing explicitly describes Max as weekly-only with no daily cap.
  • Source B: Devin Desktop quota system — Desktop quota documentation describes daily and weekly allowances generally and includes Max among paid plans, without a Max exception.
  • Applies to: Max self-serve versus existing Desktop/legacy accounts; verify contract and account meter.
  • Decision impact: Do not publish a universal Max daily cap or infer that a historical account has migrated. Exact numeric quotas remain undisclosed.
  • TraceCheck status: Unresolved — Derived outputs must not treat one side as settled Fact.
  • Last checked Sep 8, 2026, 9:54 AM UTC

Current plans and access

Access and sources

Category
coding agent
Access model
Devin Desktop subscription with daily and weekly token-budget quotas; paid extra usage is separate
Decision categories
subscription service
Open source
Unknown — not established by the verified sources
Platforms / access
Devin Desktop / Windsurf editor
Verification notes
  • Windsurf is now named Devin Desktop. Existing plans, pricing, extensions, and settings carry over according to the official product page.
  • The March 2026 quota system replaced credits with daily and weekly token budgets.
  • Daily and weekly quotas reset on calendar boundaries; the exact numeric allowances are not publicly disclosed.
  • Teams billing is an unresolved official-source conflict between the Devin pricing page and the self-serve billing document.
  • On June 2, 2026 Cognition renamed Windsurf to Devin Desktop and delivered the change as an over-the-air update. Official docs say existing plans, pricing, extensions, and settings carry over, including legacy Windsurf Enterprise. Cascade remained available through July 2026; Devin Local is the current local agent.

Compare cost and limits

See Windsurf (now Devin Desktop) alongside other tracked AI coding tools, with incompatible quota units kept separate.

Verified change history

Filter global changes

No verified changes match this view. Pending detections are intentionally private.