OpenAI · Included usage and overage

Codex Usage Limits: Plus, Pro, 5-Hour and Weekly

Codex Plus has one shared five-hour allowance, with official approximate local-message ranges by model. Pro plans ($100, $200 or $500 per month) currently have no five-hour limit. Weekly limits may apply to both. Credits can continue after included usage.

Last verified · Codex

Usage evidence reviewed . Other product facts retain their earlier verification date.

Direct answer

How much Codex usage do Plus and Pro include?

Current plans
Fact Plus $20.00/month; Pro from $100.00/month (Plans at $100, $200, or $500 per month).
Plus five-hour quota
Fact Shared five-hour local-message estimates by model, for example 15–160 with GPT-6.1 Sol. These are not fixed limits.
Pro five-hour quota
Fact Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
Weekly window
Fact Additional weekly limits may apply. Unknown OpenAI does not publish one fixed weekly message count.
Reset
Fact Remaining allowance and reset time appear in the Codex usage dashboard and CLI /status. TraceCheck does not invent a UTC clock.
Shared pool
Fact Local messages and cloud chats share the plan allowance. Switching models does not create a new pool.
After the limit
Fact Plus and Pro can buy credits after included usage. Compare waiting, a banked reset, credits, and upgrading in the reset vs credits guide.
Last verified
Oct 11, 2026, 9:30 AM UTC

Changed since September

What changed in Codex limits and models

If GPT-5.5 is saved in config.toml, a custom agent or a script, switch it before October 14, 2026: GPT-6 Sol on Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu; GPT-6 Luna on Free and Go. API-key use is not affected. Step-by-step: Codex models and the GPT-5.5 replacement.

Plus vs Pro at a glance

Plan facts from the official pricing and usage pages. Model ranges are not collapsed into one number.
PlanSubscription priceCapacity ruleSingle numeric allowance
PlusFact $20.00/monthShared five-hour usage; weekly limits may also apply.Unknown as one number Official approximate ranges vary by model in the Plus column.
ProFact From $100.00/monthPro plans currently have no five-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. Choose a $100, $200 or $500 plan; Ultrafast mode is on Pro $500.Fact No five-hour limit currently. Unknown Weekly allowance not published.

Sources: plan pricing and usage-limit documentation. Pro's starting price is the $100 plan; $200 and $500 plans are also listed.

Metering map

What Codex actually meters

Each plan below is a pool graph: consumers drain a pool, a reset clock refills it, and exhaustion says what happens at empty. Numeric capacity is shown only when an official source publishes it for that exact pool.

Plus

  • FactPlus shared five-hour allowance · shared · messages

    No single Plus five-hour quantity is published; official ranges vary by model.

    • Consumer · surface Codex local — Fact Local messages and cloud chats share the Plus five-hour allowance.
    • Consumer · surface Codex cloud — Fact Cloud chats share the Plus allowance and may use more than local messages.
    • Consumer · surface ChatGPT Work — Fact ChatGPT Work shares Codex usage where the plan supports it.
    • Consumer · model GPT-6.1 Sol — Fact Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 15–160. Not a fixed limit.
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Astra — Fact Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 5–45. Not a fixed limit.
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Sol — Fact Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 15–150. Not a fixed limit.
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Luna — Fact Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 350–3,000. Not a fixed limit.
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Sol — Fact Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 10–100. Not a fixed limit.
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Terra
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Luna — Fact Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 250–2,000. Not a fixed limit.
    • Reset · rolling Fact Remaining allowance and reset time are shown in the Codex usage dashboard and CLI /status. TraceCheck does not invent a UTC clock. Visible in Codex usage dashboard, CLI /status.
    • At limit · credits, wait for reset, upgrade Fact Plus users can buy credits, wait for the displayed reset, switch to a lower-cost model, or upgrade. The current turn may finish subject to fair use.

    Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · verified Oct 11, 2026, 9:30 AM UTC

  • UnknownPlus weekly limit · shared · other

    OpenAI says weekly limits may apply but does not publish one fixed weekly message count.

    • Consumer · surface Codex local
    • Consumer · surface Codex cloud
    • Consumer · model GPT-6.1 Sol
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Astra
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Sol
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Luna
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Sol
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Terra
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Luna
    • Reset · weekly Unknown Weekly limits may apply. No universal weekly reset timestamp is published. Visible in Codex usage dashboard.

    Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · verified Oct 11, 2026, 9:30 AM UTC

Pro

  • UnknownPro weekly limit · shared · other

    Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Weekly limits may apply; the numeric weekly cap is not publicly disclosed.

    • Consumer · surface Codex local — Fact Local messages and cloud chats share the Pro usage allowance. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
    • Consumer · surface Codex cloud
    • Consumer · model GPT-6.1 Sol
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Astra
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Sol
    • Consumer · model GPT-6 Luna
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Sol
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Terra
    • Consumer · model GPT-5.6 Luna
    • Reset · weekly Unknown Weekly limits may apply. No universal weekly reset timestamp is published. Visible in Codex usage dashboard.
    • At limit · credits, wait for reset, upgrade Fact Pro users who reach their usage limit can buy credits, wait for the displayed reset, switch model, or move to a larger Pro plan.

    Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · verified Oct 11, 2026, 9:30 AM UTC

Usage decoder

Decode your usage

One compact answer path from the verified metering graph. TraceCheck will not guess which clock you hit.

Did I hit the 5-hour limit or the weekly limit?

InsufficientTraceCheck cannot determine which Codex clock was hit from this information alone.

Mechanics

  • Possible: 5-hour / session window.
  • Possible: weekly allowance.

Next action: Check the reset shown in the official usage UI.

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown — account-dependent How to distinguish: check the reset shown in the official usage UI. TraceCheck does not guess which pool emptied.

Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · Codex pricing · Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan

Do Codex local and Codex cloud share usage?

DocumentedShared pools: Plus shared five-hour allowance; Plus weekly limit; Pro weekly limit. Only documented consumers on those pools draw the same allowance. A surface not listed as a consumer is not assumed to share it.

Mechanics

  • Plus shared five-hour allowance consumers: Codex local, Codex cloud, ChatGPT Work, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, GPT-5.6 Luna.
  • Plus weekly limit consumers: Codex local, Codex cloud, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, GPT-5.6 Luna.
  • Pro weekly limit consumers: Codex local, Codex cloud, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, GPT-5.6 Luna.
  • Codex local — Local messages in app, CLI, and IDE

Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · Codex pricing · Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan

What counts against Codex usage?

PartialPlus shared five-hour allowance is drained by Codex local, Codex cloud, ChatGPT Work, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Luna. Pro weekly limit is drained by Codex local.

Mechanics

  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: Local messages and cloud chats share the Plus five-hour allowance.
  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: Cloud chats share the Plus allowance and may use more than local messages.
  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: ChatGPT Work shares Codex usage where the plan supports it.
  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 15–160. Not a fixed limit.

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown No single Plus five-hour quantity is published; official ranges vary by model.
  • Unknown OpenAI says weekly limits may apply but does not publish one fixed weekly message count.
  • Unknown Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Weekly limits may apply; the numeric weekly cap is not publicly disclosed.

Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · Codex pricing · Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan

Does ChatGPT Work count against Codex usage?

PartialPlus shared five-hour allowance is drained by Codex local, Codex cloud, ChatGPT Work, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Luna.

Mechanics

  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: Local messages and cloud chats share the Plus five-hour allowance.
  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: Cloud chats share the Plus allowance and may use more than local messages.
  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: ChatGPT Work shares Codex usage where the plan supports it.
  • Plus · Plus shared five-hour allowance: Official Plus-column approximate local messages / 5h: 15–160. Not a fixed limit.

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown No single Plus five-hour quantity is published; official ranges vary by model.

Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · Codex pricing · Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan

When does it reset, and where can I see that?

PartialRemaining allowance and reset time are shown in the Codex usage dashboard and CLI /status. TraceCheck does not invent a UTC clock. Weekly limits may apply. No universal weekly reset timestamp is published. Weekly limits may apply. No universal weekly reset timestamp is published.

Mechanics

  • rolling: Remaining allowance and reset time are shown in the Codex usage dashboard and CLI /status. TraceCheck does not invent a UTC clock. Visible in Codex usage dashboard, CLI /status.
  • weekly: Weekly limits may apply. No universal weekly reset timestamp is published. Visible in Codex usage dashboard.
  • weekly: Weekly limits may apply. No universal weekly reset timestamp is published. Visible in Codex usage dashboard.

Next action: Look in Codex usage dashboard, CLI /status.

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown No single Plus five-hour quantity is published; official ranges vary by model.
  • Unknown OpenAI says weekly limits may apply but does not publish one fixed weekly message count.
  • Unknown Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Weekly limits may apply; the numeric weekly cap is not publicly disclosed.

Source: Codex pricing and usage limits · Codex pricing · Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan

Reset mechanics

Five-hour usage and weekly limits

  1. Fact A rolling five-hour allowance is shared across local messages and cloud chats where applicable.
  2. Fact Additional weekly limits may apply even when a short-window allowance remains.
  3. Fact Check the Codex usage dashboard or CLI /status for your remaining allowance and reset time.
  4. Unknown These sources do not establish one universal reset day or hour for every account.

Derived Do not multiply one model's message estimate by the number of models or by five-hour periods to invent a daily or monthly quota.

What happens after included usage?

Fact Additional credits can extend usage after included limits; credit consumption varies by model and speed.

Fact If you reach a limit during an active turn, the agent may finish that turn subject to fair use. Plus and Pro can purchase credits without changing plans. Credits extend usage; they are not a usage-window reset. For the wait / banked-reset / credits / upgrade choice, use the reset vs credits guide.

Derived Higher included capacity and additional credits address different needs: moving to Pro removes the five-hour limit, while credits extend usage beyond whatever limit you hit. These facts cannot predict completed coding tasks per dollar.

Model-specific five-hour estimates

Fact OpenAI publishes approximate local messages per five-hour period for Plus and Standard Business. They are not fixed message limits. Cloud tasks may use more of the allowance than local messages.

Official columns only. Pro has no column because Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
ModelPlusStandard BusinessPro
GPT-6.1 SolFact 15–160 local messages / 5hFact 15–160 local messages / 5hNo five-hour limit
GPT-6 AstraFact 5–45 local messages / 5hFact 5–45 local messages / 5hNo five-hour limit
GPT-6 SolFact 15–150 local messages / 5hFact 15–150 local messages / 5hNo five-hour limit
GPT-6 LunaFact 350–3,000 local messages / 5hFact 350–3,000 local messages / 5hNo five-hour limit
GPT-5.6 SolFact 10–100 local messages / 5hFact 10–100 local messages / 5hNo five-hour limit
GPT-5.6 LunaFact 250–2,000 local messages / 5hFact 250–2,000 local messages / 5hNo five-hour limit

Fact GPT-5.6 Terra remains selectable during the GPT-6 rollout but has no row in the current table. GPT-5.3-Codex-Spark retired on September 14, 2026.

Not directly comparable These ranges are approximate local messages, not a universal token, credit, or task score. Model rows share one five-hour allowance; they are not separate pools you can add together.

What is not disclosed

Unknown OpenAI does not publish a fixed weekly numeric cap, a universal reset clock, a Pro weekly allowance, or a single token conversion of the subscription pool. Free and Go have no model-specific message table.

Free and Go have no model-specific message table in the verified usage chart. A subscription price is not an API token price. Unknown — not publicly disclosed as a single weekly number.

The chatgpt.com table still lists GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4, and GPT-5.4 mini rows. GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.4 mini retired from ChatGPT-signed-in Codex on August 31, 2026, and GPT-5.5 retires on October 14, 2026, so those rows are not treated as current availability.

Codex CLI pricing versus API token cost

Fact Plus includes the CLI alongside other Codex interfaces. Separately configured API/provider access has its own usage billing and limits; the ChatGPT subscription amount is not an API token price.

Unknown No single token cost covers every model and access path. This page therefore does not convert a subscription allowance to tokens or quote an unverified API rate.

Official sources conflict

Official sources conflict Official sources conflict. The Codex pricing table still displays legacy GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.4 mini rows, while the Help Center states those models are no longer available in Codex for users signed in with ChatGPT from August 31, 2026.

Verified Sep 1, 2026, 8:49 AM UTC. Affected pages: /codex/, /codex/usage-limits/, /changes/2026-08-31-codex-model-retirement-001/

Recent verified changes

Official sources

Last verified Oct 11, 2026, 9:30 AM UTC. Pending detections stay off this page until a human verifies them.

See Codex plans, recorded models, and change history, the Claude Code Pro and Max limits guide, or the Codex vs Claude Code subscription decision.

Considering Kimi too? Use the three-tool comparison. The comparison hub covers all tracked products. The plan calculator ranks published plans without converting units.