xAI · Subscription and API limits

Grok Build Usage Limits

Grok Build draws from a shared weekly pool on paid Grok plans. A fixed Build prompt or token allowance is not publicly disclosed; API throughput limits describe a separate system.

  • Last verifiedSep 7, 2026, 6:30 PM UTC
  • Official sources on this page5
  • Limit systemsWeekly pool and API rates
  • Numeric Build quotaUnknown

Weekly pool

Shared SuperGrok pool

Fact

Reset

Settings → Usage

Fact

Numeric Build quota

Not published

Unknown

API limits

Separate system

Fact

Direct answer

What is the weekly Grok Build limit, and when does it reset?

Paid Grok Build uses the shared SuperGrok weekly pool, not a published prompt or token count. Open Settings → Usage for your reset time; Extra Usage Credits can continue after the pool is empty.

Verified fact breakdown
Current plans
Fact Paid Grok / SuperGrok subscription usage, or a separate xAI API account. Subscription prices are plan-dependent and not stored as one Build price.
Primary quota
Fact One shared weekly usage pool across Grok products, including Build.
Weekly quantity
Unknown xAI confirms a weekly pool exists, but does not publish a fixed numeric Grok Build prompt or token quota.
Reset
Fact The pool resets on the schedule shown in Settings → Usage. TraceCheck does not invent a UTC reset.
After the limit
Fact Paid features pause until reset. Extra Usage Credits, a plan upgrade, or Auto Top Up can continue paid use. Free-tier Chat and Voice remain available.
Last verified
Sep 7, 2026, 6:30 PM UTC

Reset windows

When does SuperGrok reset?

A timeline of official windows, not remaining quota. Unknown stays unknown.

Weekly SuperGrok pool

Fact

The pool renews each week. Open Settings → Usage for the reset date and time associated with your account, Extra Usage Credits balance, and the product breakdown.

Universal reset clock

Unknown

These sources do not establish one universal reset day or hour for every subscriber. TraceCheck does not invent a UTC reset.

API RPS / TPM

Fact

API rate limits apply continuously. They are not a weekly SuperGrok reset and do not consume that pool.

See the official usage and limits FAQ for the account usage display.

Need to continue now? Check the reset timestamp and Extra Usage Credits balance in Settings → Usage. Waiting for the displayed reset avoids buying continuation; paid continuation has its own charge. If your entitlement came through Cursor, first check whether you are using Grok Bot or Grok Build.

Published structure

Published limits at a glance

One table for subscription and API disclosures. Unknown is not a remaining-quota bar.

Verified subscription and API limit disclosures
SystemMeasureOfficially documented state
Subscription / SuperGrokShared weekly poolYes — shared across Grok products, including Build
Fixed Grok Build numeric quotaUnknown — not publicly disclosed
Reset modelWeekly pool; the reset schedule is shown in Settings → Usage
Free-plan Grok Build numeric quotaUnknown — not publicly disclosed
API / grok-build-0.1Tier 0 request rate37 requests/second (RPS)
Tier 0 token rate10,000,000 tokens/minute (10M TPM)
Token pricing$1 input / $0.20 cached input / $2 output per 1M tokens
Context window256,000 tokens
How each published cap is scoped

Subscription

Shared weekly SuperGrok pool

Fact

Paid Grok Build draws from one weekly pool shared across Grok products, including Build. Different products consume the pool at different compute costs.

Subscription

Fixed Grok Build numeric quota

Unknown — not publicly disclosed

Unknown

xAI confirms a weekly pool exists, but does not publish a fixed numeric Grok Build prompt or token quota.

Subscription

Free-plan Grok Build numeric quota

Unknown — not publicly disclosed

Unknown

Free-tier Chat and Voice remain on their own schedule after the paid weekly pool is empty. A free-plan Build number is not published.

API / grok-build-0.1

Tier 0 request rate

37 requests/second (RPS)

Fact

This is a continuous API rate limit, not the SuperGrok weekly pool.

API / grok-build-0.1

Tier 0 token rate

10,000,000 tokens/minute (10M TPM)

Fact

Exceeding RPS or TPM returns HTTP 429. Tiers never downgrade.

API / grok-build-0.1

Context window

256,000 tokens

Fact

Maximum model context for one API request, not an account quota and not a remaining-usage meter.

After the limit

What happens when I hit the weekly limit?

Canonical branches only. No invented remaining-quota path.

If the weekly pool is empty

Paid features pause until the weekly pool resets. Extra Usage Credits, a plan upgrade, or Auto Top Up can continue paid use. Free-tier Chat and Voice remain available on their own schedule.

Fact

Wait for reset

Paid features pause until the weekly pool resets. Check the timestamp in Settings → Usage instead of assuming a global clock.

Fact

Use Extra Usage Credits

Extra Usage Credits can continue paid features after the weekly included pool is exhausted. Credits can currently be purchased on the web, are used after included weekly usage, and expire one year after purchase unless otherwise stated. Auto Top Up is optional.

Fact

Stay on free Chat and Voice

Free-tier Chat and Voice remain available on their own schedule after the paid weekly pool is empty.

Derived: Extra Usage Credits are a continuation path, not a published numeric Build quota and not an API rate limit. API HTTP 429 is a separate blocked path and does not consume or reset the SuperGrok weekly pool.

Plan comparison

Subscription pool vs API rate limits

Units stay as published. RPS, TPM, and the weekly pool are not merged into one score.

Plan limit facts
PlanSystemQuotaPublished quantityResetAfter the limit
Grok / SuperGrok subscriptionShared weekly poolShared weekly poolFact One weekly usage pool across Grok products, including BuildUnknown Unknown — not publicly disclosedWeekly; schedule shown in Settings → UsagePaid features pause until reset. Extra Usage Credits, a plan upgrade, or Auto Top Up can continue paid use.
xAI APIgrok-build-0.1 rate limitsgrok-build-0.1 rate limitsFact Per-model RPS and TPM, separate from SuperGrokFact Tier 0: 37 RPS and 10,000,000 TPMContinuous API rate limitExceeding per-model RPS or TPM returns HTTP 429. This does not consume or reset the SuperGrok weekly pool.

Freshness

Recent verified changes

Public verified records only. Pending candidates are not shown.

No verified Grok Build change records are in the public feed yet.

Metering map, usage decoder, and source conflicts

Metering map

What Grok Build actually meters

Each plan below is a pool graph: consumers drain a pool, a reset clock refills it, and exhaustion says what happens at empty. Numeric capacity is shown only when an official source publishes it for that exact pool.

Grok / SuperGrok subscription

  • UnknownShared weekly SuperGrok pool · shared · usage value

    xAI confirms a weekly pool and a percentage display with a per-product breakdown. A fixed numeric Grok Build prompt or token quota is not published.

    • Consumer · surface Grok Build — Fact Build draws from the shared weekly SuperGrok pool. A long coding task uses more of the pool than a short chat.
    • Consumer · surface Grok Chat — Fact Chat draws from the same weekly pool at a different compute cost.
    • Consumer · surface Grok Imagine — Fact Imagine draws from the same weekly pool. High-quality video uses more compute than a short chat.
    • Consumer · surface Grok Voice — Fact Voice draws from the same weekly pool.
    • Consumer · surface API line in Settings → Usage — Unknown Settings → Usage lists API in the weekly product breakdown. TraceCheck does not treat that display as the developer API RPS/TPM table.
    • Reset · weekly Fact The weekly pool resets on the account schedule shown in Settings → Usage. TraceCheck does not invent one UTC reset for every subscriber. Visible in Settings → Usage.
    • At limit · wait for reset, credits, upgrade Fact Paid features pause until the weekly pool resets. Extra Usage Credits, a plan upgrade, or Auto Top Up can continue paid use. Free-tier Chat and Voice remain available on their own schedule.

    Source: Grok usage and limits FAQ · verified Sep 7, 2026, 6:30 PM UTC

xAI API

  • Factgrok-build-0.1 API RPS · requests

    Published capacity: 37.

    • Consumer · request type grok-build-0.1 API requests — Fact Tier 0 grok-build-0.1 is limited to 37 requests per second. Exceeding the cap returns HTTP 429.
    • Reset · unknown Fact API RPS is a continuous rate limit, not a weekly SuperGrok reset.
    • At limit · blocked Fact Exceeding per-model RPS returns HTTP 429. This does not consume or reset the SuperGrok weekly pool.

    Source: xAI API rate limits · verified Sep 7, 2026, 6:30 PM UTC

  • Factgrok-build-0.1 API TPM · tokens

    Published capacity: 10000000.

    • Consumer · request type grok-build-0.1 API tokens — Fact Tier 0 grok-build-0.1 is limited to 10,000,000 tokens per minute. Exceeding the cap returns HTTP 429.
    • Reset · unknown Fact API TPM is a continuous rate limit, not a weekly SuperGrok reset.
    • At limit · blocked Fact Exceeding per-model TPM returns HTTP 429. This does not consume or reset the SuperGrok weekly pool.

    Source: xAI API rate limits · verified Sep 7, 2026, 6:30 PM UTC

Usage decoder

Decode your usage

One compact answer path from the verified metering graph. TraceCheck will not guess which clock you hit.

Do Grok Build and Grok Chat share usage?

DocumentedShared pools: Shared weekly SuperGrok pool. Only documented consumers on those pools draw the same allowance. A surface not listed as a consumer is not assumed to share it.

Mechanics

  • Shared weekly SuperGrok pool consumers: Grok Build, Grok Chat, Grok Imagine, Grok Voice, API line in Settings → Usage.
  • Grok Build — Coding product listed in the SuperGrok weekly usage breakdown.
  • Grok Chat — Consumer chat on grok.com and the Grok apps.
  • Grok Imagine

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown The verified sources do not establish that xAI API shares this pool: Developer API with per-model RPS/TPM. Not the SuperGrok weekly quota.
  • Unknown The verified sources do not establish that Grok Bot shares this pool: Separate durable-bot product. Not grok.com Grok and not assumed to drain the Build weekly pool.

Source: Grok usage and limits FAQ · Grok plans and usage overview

What counts against Grok Build usage?

PartialShared weekly SuperGrok pool is drained by Grok Build, Grok Chat, Grok Imagine, Grok Voice, API line in Settings → Usage. grok-build-0.1 API RPS is drained by grok-build-0.1 API requests. grok-build-0.1 API TPM is drained by grok-build-0.1 API tokens.

Mechanics

  • Grok / SuperGrok subscription · Shared weekly SuperGrok pool: Build draws from the shared weekly SuperGrok pool. A long coding task uses more of the pool than a short chat.
  • Grok / SuperGrok subscription · Shared weekly SuperGrok pool: Chat draws from the same weekly pool at a different compute cost.
  • Grok / SuperGrok subscription · Shared weekly SuperGrok pool: Imagine draws from the same weekly pool. High-quality video uses more compute than a short chat.
  • Grok / SuperGrok subscription · Shared weekly SuperGrok pool: Voice draws from the same weekly pool.

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown xAI confirms a weekly pool and a percentage display with a per-product breakdown. A fixed numeric Grok Build prompt or token quota is not published.

Source: Grok usage and limits FAQ · Grok plans and usage overview · xAI API rate limits · Grok Build 0.1 model documentation

Is the API quota the same as the weekly subscription pool?

DocumentedNo. The SuperGrok weekly subscription allowance and the developer API's per-model request/token rate limits are separate systems. An API HTTP 429 does not identify exhaustion of the weekly subscription pool.

Mechanics

  • Shared weekly SuperGrok pool uses usage value.
  • grok-build-0.1 API RPS uses requests.
  • grok-build-0.1 API TPM uses tokens.

Source: Grok usage and limits FAQ · Grok plans and usage overview · xAI API rate limits · Grok Build 0.1 model documentation

Is Grok Build the same as Grok Bot?

DocumentedNo. Grok Build is the coding product in the SuperGrok weekly usage breakdown. Grok Bot is a separate durable-bot product, not Grok on grok.com or the Grok mobile apps. Do not treat their allowances as interchangeable.

Source: Grok usage and limits FAQ · Grok Bot FAQ

Does Cursor's Grok access use the same SuperGrok pool?

PartialCursor access is not evidence of a SuperGrok Build weekly-pool entitlement. Cursor documents a separate Grok Bot usage grant; that does not establish the pool used by every Grok model or provider route in Cursor.

Next action: Check whether you are using Grok Bot, a Cursor-included model, or your own API key before comparing usage meters.

Unknown / conflict

  • Unknown — undisclosed The exact pool for an unspecified Cursor model/provider route is not established here. Official xAI and Cursor sources also disagree on the eligible Grok Bot plan list; see the conflict below.

Source: Grok usage and limits FAQ · Grok Bot FAQ · Cursor Grok Bot plans and billing

Official source conflict

Official sources disagree

Unknown — conflicting Which SuperGrok and Cursor plans currently include Grok Bot

  • Source A: Grok Bot FAQ — The Grok Bot FAQ lists eligible plans as SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy, Cursor Pro+, Cursor Ultra, and Cursor Teams Standard and Premium. If both Cursor and SuperGrok subscriptions exist, Grok Bot uses whichever has more usage.
  • Source B: Cursor Grok Bot plans and billing — Cursor help says Grok Bot is included on every paid individual Cursor plan and Cursor Teams, and that linking individual SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy, or X Premium+ is a usage grant on the Cursor account. SuperGrok Lite, SuperGrok Team, and SuperGrok Enterprise are not included.
  • Applies to: Users deciding whether a current SuperGrok or Cursor plan includes Grok Bot
  • Decision impact: Do not treat one eligible-plan list as settled Fact. Build vs Bot pool separation does not depend on resolving this list. Cursor-included Bot still does not imply SuperGrok Build weekly-pool entitlement.
  • TraceCheck status: Unresolved — Derived outputs must not treat one side as settled Fact.
  • Current interpretation: TraceCheck records that official Bot plan lists currently disagree. The August 26 xAI news post lists SuperGrok, Cursor Pro, and Cursor Teams, which matches Cursor help more closely than the Bot FAQ list and remains a third official description.
  • Last checked Sep 8, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC
Which Grok surface uses which pool?

Which Grok surface uses which pool?

Official relationships only. Shared branding is not treated as shared quota.
SurfaceIncluded byConsumes this pool?Notes
Grok BuildPaid Grok / SuperGrokFact Shared weekly SuperGrok poolListed in the Settings → Usage product breakdown.
Grok Chat, Imagine, VoicePaid Grok / SuperGrokFact Same shared weekly poolDifferent products cost different amounts of compute.
Free-tier Chat and VoiceFree GrokFact Separate free-tier limitsRemain available on their own schedule after the paid weekly pool is empty.
xAI API grok-build-0.1API accountFact API RPS/TPM, not the weekly SuperGrok quotaTier 0 is 37 RPS and 10M TPM. HTTP 429 on exceed.
Grok BotEligible SuperGrok or Cursor plans — official lists currently conflictFact Separate weekly Bot usage, not the SuperGrok Build poolSee Grok Bot vs Grok Build. Cursor-included Bot is not a SuperGrok Build entitlement. Numeric Bot capacity is Unknown.
Cursor-included Grok modelsCursor plansNot assumedCursor Grok access is not copied into the SuperGrok Build weekly pool in this record.
Background: weekly pool, tokens, API, and mixed numbers

Grok weekly limits and the shared Build quota

Fact Paid users receive one weekly allowance that can be spent across Grok products. Build appears in xAI's usage breakdown, and higher paid tiers provide larger weekly allowances. Different products consume the pool at different compute costs.

xAI's verified documentation does not provide a stable number of Grok Build tasks, prompts, tokens, or compute units included in that pool. The fixed subscription cap therefore remains unknown / not publicly disclosed.

Are token limits or CLI percentages a Build quota?

A fixed subscription token allowance is Unknown. An observed CLI percentage cannot establish a universal number of remaining prompts or tokens. The API model's context window describes request capacity; its token rate describes throughput.

Derived Identify whether work uses subscription access or an API account before interpreting a limit. A SuperGrok subscription quota cannot be read from the API rate table.

xAI API usage is separate

Fact The API uses metered token pricing and per-model rate limits. For grok-build-0.1, xAI lists a 256,000-token context window, Tier 0 limits of 37 RPS and 10M TPM, and prices of $1.00 per 1M input tokens, $0.20 per 1M cached input tokens, and $2.00 per 1M output tokens.

These API limits do not state how much Grok Build usage is included with a Grok or SuperGrok subscription. Exceeding API RPS or TPM returns HTTP 429. Exceeding per-model RPS or TPM returns HTTP 429. This does not consume or reset the SuperGrok weekly pool.

Why you may see different numbers online

  • User-measured percentages and CLI displays describe observed account usage; they are not canonical fixed limits.
  • A 256,000-token context window is the maximum model context for one API request, not an account quota.
  • API RPS and TPM rate limits control request throughput; they are not subscription usage limits.

Official sources conflict

Official sources conflict Official xAI Grok Bot FAQ, Cursor Grok Bot plans help, and the August 26 xAI news post currently describe different eligible SuperGrok and Cursor plan sets for Grok Bot.

Verified Sep 8, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC. Affected pages: /grok-build/usage-limits/, /grok-bot-vs-grok-build/

Official evidence

Official sources

Canonical vendor pages only. Observed CLI percentages are not sources.

Related tasks