OpenAI · active
OpenAI API
OpenAI API first-party shutdown dates and Microsoft Foundry Azure OpenAI retirement dates are separate provider lifecycles. This overview does not sit in the coding-tool comparison table.
Direct answer
OpenAI and Foundry are not one retirement calendar
A first-party OpenAI shutdown date is not a Microsoft Foundry retirement date, even when the model name and version match. TraceCheck does not average those dates. The worked examples live on the model-retirement-dates page.
If the question is which provider calendar applies to a named model version, use OpenAI API vs Foundry retirement dates. Codex plan access stays on Codex.
Current plans and access
OpenAI API (first-party)
Model-specific OpenAI API usage pricing is not owned on this product record
ModelsOpenAI API model catalog
UsageRetirement and shutdown dates are published per model on the OpenAI deprecations page. They are not Microsoft Foundry dates.
- Short window
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Daily
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Weekly
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Monthly
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Overage
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
Access: OpenAI API
- A first-party OpenAI shutdown date is not a Foundry retirement date, even when the model name and version string match.
Source: OpenAI API deprecations
Microsoft Foundry Azure OpenAI
Azure OpenAI deployment pricing is not owned on this product record
ModelsAzure OpenAI in Microsoft Foundry
UsageRetirement dates are published per model version on the Foundry schedule. They are not first-party OpenAI API dates.
- Short window
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Daily
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Weekly
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Monthly
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
- Overage
- Unknown — not publicly disclosed
Access: Microsoft Foundry Azure OpenAI
- Foundry also publishes lifecycle labels (GA, Legacy, Deprecated) and, for some models, training versus deployment retirement. Those are Foundry facts only.
Source: Microsoft Foundry Azure OpenAI model retirement schedule
Access and sources
- Official product
- Open official product page
- Category
- api platform
- Access model
- First-party OpenAI API keys are a separate provider lifecycle from Microsoft Foundry Azure OpenAI deployments
- Decision categories
- byok, provider dependent
- Open source
- No
- Platforms / access
- OpenAI API, Microsoft Foundry Azure OpenAI
- Verification notes
- TraceCheck does not average, midpoint, or otherwise normalize retirement dates across OpenAI and Microsoft Foundry for the same model or version.
Compare cost and limits
OpenAI API is not a row in the coding-tool fact table. Provider retirement dates are on OpenAI API vs Foundry retirement dates. The coding comparison hub remains compare.
Verified change history
Filter global changesNo verified changes match this view. Pending detections are intentionally private.